A Charming Georgian Residence (c. 1799) in a Wonderful
Private Setting on c. 50 Acres of Parkland all in permanent pasture with tremendous shelter and many specimen tress and 2 acre walled garden.
“Never before on the Market”
Carlow 8 km | M9 Motorway 2km (Junction 6) | Kilkenny 35 km | Dublin 84 km | Dublin Airport 77 km
(Distances are approximate)
Milford is approximately 8km south of Carlow Town just off the R448 which is the old Carlow/Kilkenny Road. Carlow is the county town of Co. Carlow in the south east c. 84 km from Dublin. It has a population of c. 24,272 (Census 2016) and nestles on the River Barrow. The M9 Motorway is 2 km (Junction 6) and the famous heritage city of Kilkenny is c. 35 km south with Waterford Airport 70km. The well known national hunt trainer Willie Mullins trains at Closutton nearby. There are many amenities in the area including:
Racing - the local course is Gowran Park (25 km), Punchestown (40 km), Curragh (43 km), Leopardstown (85 km).
Hunting - Carlow, Kildares, Shillelagh and Kilkenny.
Shooting - Coolattin Estate, Ballinacorr Estate.
Golf - Championship 18 hole course in Carlow, Mount Juliet, Mount Wollesley and Rathsallagh.
Fishing - good coarse fishing on the River Barrow adjacent to the property and River Slaney.
Boating - on the River Barrow.
The charming residence was built in 1799 and has been in the same family ever since. The Alexanders were originally millers and entrepreneurs, Milford Mill was built in 1791 and subsequently Milford House in 1799.
Although they built up an Estate of c. 2,000 acres, they remained active Mill owners and entrepreneurs over
the generations. In the mid 19th century Milford Mills was the largest flour mill in Ireland and despite the
abolition of the Corn Laws in 1846 which damaged the economics of the enterprise the site remained the focus
of industrial employment into the 20th century. One of the earliest hydro-electric dynamos was installed in Milford Mills which supplied the town of Carlow with electricity in the 1890s. The Hydro-Electric Plant was totally refurbished in the 1980s and currently produces 250 kilowatts into the National Grid. This is also available, should the purchaser be interested.
The property is approached down a long avenue past the front gate lodge. The drive winds through the post and
railed paddocks to the main residence which has a very pleasant aspect looking over the parkland and the lawn field. There is a separate drive off the main avenue to the original stud yard.
Milford House is a dignified charming 5 by 2 bay two storey house built in 1799 with a granite ionic portico and single storey wing to the left side. The garden side has a 4 bay front. It has some magnificent plasterwork and fireplaces with unique chimney pieces. The entrance hall (14 ft ceiling) is bright and gives access to the library which is one of the wonderfully proportioned reception rooms with a dual aspect (S and W), with magnificent fireplace and chimney piece. The drawing room interlinks with both the library and dining room which makes for ideal entertaining, the drawing room having a dual aspect (S and E), whilst the fine dining room has an easterly aspect. All the reception rooms are bright with views overlooking the parkland. Other rooms on the ground floor include the kitchen with Aga cooker, breakfast room, TV room, cloakroom with shower and 2 bedrooms. The wonderful staircase leads to the first return with bathroom and walk-in airing cupboard. The staircase continues up to the central landing on the first floor. Directly ahead is the spacious master bedroom with ensuite bathroom. In addition, there are a further 4 well-proportioned bedrooms, 3 of which have ensuite bathrooms. The lower ground floor which was the original service quarters includes the old kitchen, cellar, pantry, office, tack room, internal garage and boiler room (all of which are ideally suitable for additional accommodation if required with good ceiling height (10 ft 6 inches) and 3 further rooms. Away from the house is the original stud yard (which has independent access).
Ground Floor: Entrance hall | Library | Drawing room | Dining room | Breakfast room
Kitchen | TV room | Cloakroom with WC and shower | 2 Bedrooms | Gun room.
First Floor: 5 Bedrooms | 4 Bathrooms | Walk-in Airing Cupboard.
Lower Ground Floor: Includes a range of rooms including Old kitchen | Pantry | Wine cellar
Office | Tack room | Bathroom | Internal garage | Boiler house | 3 further rooms.
GARDENER’S COTTAGE is approached through independent access to the rear of the property.
Hall | Kitchen | Drawing room | Utility | Bathroom | Store | 2 Bedrooms.
GATE LODGE is at the front entrance.
Sitting room | Kitchen | Bedroom | Shower room.
2 Bedrooms | Bathroom | Kitchen/diner | Sitting room.
A range of 25 stables | Hay shed | Stores.
The approach to the main residence is charming through the mature post and railed paddocks and specimen trees. There is a wonderful 2 acre walled garden with a charming brook flowing through it and Victorian (1903) 3 bay greenhouse, worth restoring. To the front and rear of the property are lawns interspersed with mature trees and shrubs
ensuring colour at various times of the year.
Land is top quality, laid out in 4 paddocks, all in permanent pasture, with tremendous shelter. Woodland around the perimeter ensures complete privacy.
SPORTING, TIMBER AND MINERAL RIGHTS:
The sporting, timber and mineral rights as far as they are owned are included in the freehold sale.
PLANS, AREAS AND SCHEDULES
These are based on the Ordnance Survey and are for reference only. They have been checked and completed by the vendor’s agents and the purchaser will be deemed to satisfy himself as to the description of the property. Any error or misstatement shall not annul the sale nor entitle either party to compensation in respect thereof.
Mains electricity, oil-fired heating, private drainage. Mains water and own well on site.
FIXTURES AND FITTINGS
All fixtures, fittings and chattels whether referred to or not are specifically excluded from the sale, including carpets, curtains, light fittings, freestanding domestic and electrical items, garden machinery, statutory, granite troughs, etc.
From Dublin take the N7 signed Limerick, Cork, Waterford. Continue past Naas, soon afterwards progress onto the M9 (Exit 11, signed to Waterford). Continue on this road and take Exit 6 for Carlow Town. After c. 1km take the left and continue down this road for approximately 1km over the Barrow Bridge past the Mill, turn right over the bridge and go around sharp stone bridge and it is the first entrance on the left.
From the South take the M9 from Waterford go past Kilkenny until you come to Exit 6, take the Carlow Road R448 and after c. 1km take the left and continue down this road for approximately 1km over the Barrow Bridge past the Mill, turn right over the bridge and go around sharp stone bridge and it is the first entrance on the left.